Concert film trilogy with Robin Ticciati and the DSO

A Concert Film by Frederic Wake-Walker and Martin Baer, 2021

Available on the DSO-Website

Classical music with a difference: At Sisyphos techno club, principal conductor Robin Ticciati and the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin interpret Ondřej Adámek’s ›Dusty Rusty Hush‹ – a piece that the Berlin-based Czech composed on the occasion of the shutdown of a factory and the DSO is now using to call attention to the present desperate situation of the Berlin club scene.

The motto called ›IN EXILE – OF GODS AND MEN‹ connects ancient mythology, the Renaissance and the present: The Friedrichswerdersche Church, which was re-opened in October for museum exhibitions but had to close again right away due to the pandemic, is a meeting place for the arts with its collection of 19th century sculptures. This is where the film begins with Gabrieli’s ›Canzon in echo duodecimi toni à 10‹. A counterpoint to Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony on gut strings and natural trumpets resounds with Britten’s ›Metamorphoses‹ – from the middle of the forest.

Episode 1

Giovanni Gabrieli ›Canzon in echo duodecimi toni à 10‹ for Brass Player Ensemble

Igor Strawinsky ›Apollon musagète‹ – Ballet for String Orchestra

Ondřej Adámek ›Coups d’ailes‹ for Brass Player Octet and Space


Episode 2

Benjamin Britten ›Sechs Metamorphosen nach Ovid‹ for Oboe solo op. 49

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphonie No. 41, C mayor, KV 551 ›Jupiter‹


Episode 3 

Ondřej Adámek ›Dusty Rusty Hush‹ for Orchestra

Ondřej Adámek, Frederic Wake-Walker and DSO: Performative Improvisation for Orchestra



Commissioned by “Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin” (DSO).

Live-Stream at

Images: © Peter Adamik / Camille Blake